0
products in your shopping cart
Total:   $0.00 details
There are no products in your shopping cart!
We hope it's not for long.

Visit the shop

Curiosities

list view
  • Unproduced Film Script – Joseph Conrad’s “The Heart of Darkness”

    Late 1970’s unproduced film script titled “Voyage to the Inner Station: Joseph Conrad’s Descent and Return from the Heart of Darkness” 134 pages of script in the agency covers of Paul Kohner – Michael Levy.

    The author is named John nelson Reid and believed to be one of the many pseudonyms of successful writer Shimon Wincelberg (Naked City, The Time Tunnel, The Paper Chase, Have a Gun – Will Travel etc).

    The copy of Ilse Lahn who as a successful producer and worked at the agency around that time. Paul Kohner was in the movie business from the early days and would have been in his seventies when this script appeared. He was very successful and managed Ingmar Bergman, Maurice Chevalier, Dietrich, Garbo, Huston and many more. Michael Levy headed up CBS Theatrical Films which was generally unsuccessful.

    There are no telling reasons why this script didn’t get to production. One of the difficulties would be that there was another unfulfilled script based on the book written by Orson Welles … it did not make it either … it was regarded as to difficult (read expensive) to produce but many think it was because Welles was frozen out of Hollywood because he upset Randolph Hearst when he made Citizen Kane.

    We have read it through and we like it!

    We also have the book see separate listing for the summary storyline.

    Could be a gold mine waiting – Conrad’s Heart of darkness scripted but not acted

    $190.00

    Loading Updating cart…
  • The Georgian Confession Book – Gilbert Fabes – First Limited Edition 1930

    The Georgian Confession Book – Gilbert Fabes – First Limited Edition 1930

    A first edition 1930 published by Foyle, London. Limited to 500 copies. Very good condition and rare in its dust jacket.

    Contains the confessions of Mary Agnes Hamilton, A.E. Coppard, Rhys Davies, a Victorian Girls, a Georgian Girl and the author all pseudo signed and many blanks so that this Georgian parlour game can be enjoyed by your family. Strangely innocent and quite amusing … could be adopted as a new internet site making billions overnight. Scarce particularly in the dust jacket.

    The authors dedication is to his wife “whom I confess all at all times”!

    Rather scarce and ready to go

    $70.00

    Loading Updating cart…
  • Forbidden Books (Victorian Erotica) – An Old Bibliophile – 1902 Privately Printed 375 Copies.

    Notes & Gossip on Tabooed Literature … The Old Bibliophile was John S Farmer. This book published for the author and his friends in Paris 1902.

    Limited edition of 375 copies. Small quarto 227 pages khaki marbled paper covered boards vignettes at chapter headings. Very good condition.

    Summaries of banned books largely with an erotic content. John Farmer was a brilliant lexicographer and this book is supposedly based on publications by Charles Carrington who was known for his naughtiness.

    Rare and naughty from the Old Bibliophile

    $140.00

    Loading Updating cart…
  • War and Peace – The book of the picture story of Leo Tolstoy’s great novel.

    War and Peace – The book of the picture story of Leo Tolstoy’s great novel.

    Published by Frederick Fell. New York in 1956. Large octavo 120 pages after preliminaries. Very good condition with near full dust jacket just some signs of ageing particularly the back of the dust jacket. Internally fresh and clean. Over 120 images from the screen and how good are they.

    Adapted from the novel and the motion picture by Bernard Geis and he did a good job given the size of the Tolstoy volume and the length and complexity of the film. A relevant forward by Professor Atwood Townsend, New York University. The cast as famous as the book with the gorgeous Audrey Hepburn as Natasha and Henry Fonda as Pierre Bezukhov and then we have John Mills, Herbert Lom (a very Napoleon Napoleon) and Anita Ekberg as Helene.

    A special book for fans of Tolstoy, War and Peace, Fonda and Hepburn and the cinema

    $60.00

    Loading Updating cart…
  • Black Opium – Claude Farrere – Privately Printed 1929

    Black Opium – Claude Farrere – Privately Printed 1929

    A special English language edition published by Nicholas Brown, New York 1929. Issued Privately for Subscribers. Very good condition. Illustrated by Alexander King. A limited edition this being number 729 of 1250. Printed on 100% rag paper with illustrations by the Knudsen process on French Navarre paper.

    Large octavo, quarter white cloth (faux vellum) over unusual blue/green “painted effect” paper covered boards with gilt image to front. 264 pages, uncut edges with unusual deep brown rag paper endpapers.

    Claude Ferrere was the pseudonym of Frederick Charles Bargon (1876-1957) who served in the French Navy but left to concentrate on writing. Originally written in 1904 it is a collection of seventeen tales influenced by his experiences with opium in Indo-China, Japan and Turkey. Titles of the tales include, Wisdom of the Emperor; End of Faust; Cowardice of Monsieur de Fierce; The Vermin; Foochow Road; Sixth Sense; Out of Silence; Red Palace etc.

    Black Opium Privately for Subscribers 1929

    $120.00

    Loading Updating cart…
  • Ethnology of the Sixth Sense, Studies and Researches into its Abuses, Perversions, Follies, Anomolies, and Crimes  – Dr Jacobus X – 1899

    Ethnology of the Sixth Sense, Studies and Researches into its Abuses, Perversions, Follies, Anomolies, and Crimes – Dr Jacobus X – 1899

    By Jacobus X [Louis Jacolliot] published by Charles Carrington, Paris based bookseller and publisher of erotica in 1899. A limited first edition of 1000. Original blue cloth binding, 422 pages all in fine condition.

    The “Sixth Sense” not the psychic sense but the genital sense which is explored in its active phase.

    Includes, among many topics, clinical accounts of deformities of the sexual organs, such as “profound despondency of the unfortunate persons who have lost their penis”, “penis found in stomach of dog” etc.

    Interestingly the preamble says “this work, printed for a small number of Subscribers – Medical Men – Experts and Specialists in Nervous Diseases – Lawyers etc.” The limitation page suggests 1000 copies but is unnumbered as with other copies we have seen.

    You need to be over 18 and eccentric to buy this book – proof required

    $90.00

    Loading Updating cart…
LoadingUpdating…

Product Categories