products in your shopping cart
Total:   $0.00 details
There are no products in your shopping cart!
We hope it's not for long.

Visit the shop

Product Categories

Matthew Flinders Medal – Australian Academy of Science

Short Description

The Australian Academy of Science was formed in 1954 along the lines of the Royal Society, London.

The twenty four founding members included Sir Douglas Mawson, the inaugural President was Sir Mark Oliphant. It is based out of the spectacular Shire Dome, Canberra.

The Matthew Flinders Medal is presented every other year in recognition of scientific research of the highest standard in the physical sciences. To date there have been 31 recipients, the first being J.L. Powsey.

A very interesting medal, 70 mm in diameter weighing 124 gm, copper bronze finish. High relief bust of Flinders with “Australian Academy of Science” and "Matthew Flinders” inside rim. On the reverse a complex high relief image of observers using a telescope and a microscope with a background of planets (including Saturn) and other natural objects with suitable Latin expressions scattered. A little wear to the finish but a very scarce item.

Unusual Flinders Item – Distinguished Awarding Body

Price: $425.00

Loading Updating cart...