products in your shopping cart
Total:   $0.00 details
There are no products in your shopping cart!
We hope it's not for long.

Visit the shop

Product Categories

Beethoven Ninth Symphony Pianoforte Score arranged by Carl Reinecke (Choral Portion) English Translation by Rev W.T. Southward – Sir Adrian Boult’s Copy dated 1910 whilst at Oxford.

Short Description

Published by Breitkopf & Hartel, Leipzig circa 1900. Large octavo, 78 pages. Original cloth backed wrappers, slightly aged but still very good.

Symphony No.9 in D minor Op 125 the final complete Beethoven symphony compose between 1822 and 1824. Many regard this his greatest work. The first major symphony to use voice in here the fourth movement with four soloists and a choir. The words from a poem “Ode to Joy” a poem by Friedrich Schiller with Beethoven additions.

Published Breitkopf & Hartel being the worlds oldest music publishing house established in 1717. Their rendition of the Ninth arranged by Reinecke was to become a favourite of quality orchestra’s around the world.

Sir Adrian Boult’s copy inscribed on the upper wrapper … “Adrian C Boult 15 Oct 1910”

Adrian Boult (1889-1983) schooled at Westminster and then went up to Christ Church, Oxford reading History in 1908, but later changed to Music graduating in 1912. So, the ownership of this item clearly resides with his university days. In fact, in 1910 he was the President of the University Music Club. He met Ralph Vaughan Williams at Oxford and was already acquainted with Elgar. He then went on to study at Leipzig and it was there that he developed into the man he was. Surely one Britain's greatest orchestral conductors … he was the first to tackle Holst’s Planets and was to form the BBS Symphony Orchestra and conduct the LSO and the LPO

Beethoven Ninth Choral – Sir Adrian Boult’s Copy

Price: $120.00

Loading Updating cart...